Faith Commons

Press coverage on the letter (shown below) that Faith Commons circulated to faith leaders in Texas and sent to the governor, lieutenant governor and attorney general:

  1. A story on KERA, Texas Public Radio


To:       Governor Greg Abbott

            Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick

            Attorney General Ken Paxton


January 11, 2021


As faith leaders in Texas we are dismayed by your failure to object to President Donald Trump’s visit this week, where he will speak in public for the first time since he incited the violent riot at the U.S. Capitol on Wednesday. 


The border wall that he is coming to brag about was built with over 10.5 billion dollars, dollars he extracted from the budget of our military. He took that money when the democratically elected Congress did not agree that building a wall was a responsible way to spend government funds.


We now know that the current President is not a defender of Democracy, he is not a patriot, and he has no regard for the health or wellbeing of Americans. Last week he called for action that led to the death of at least 6 Americans and serious injuries sustained by dozens more, including over 50 police officers. His very presence has become a symbol of insurrection and lawlessness.


Yet you, our State leaders, who are responsible for the safety and wellbeing of all those who live in Texas have not condemned President Trump, nor have you opposed his appearance in our state, an appearance that can easily lead to more violence, injury and loss of life. Worse, you are acquiescing to his contentious visit at a time when our state health care system is overwhelmed by the tragic spread of COVID-19 and should not be further stressed.


We urge you to go on record to oppose this visit as guardians of health and safety for your electorate. Your most important task right now is to protect life at this tumultuous time in our nation’s history.




Rev. Ann Akin, St. John’s UMC, Lubbock

Riad K. Ali, Muslim Guide, American Muslims Research and Data Center

Rev. Laurie Anderson, Senior Minister, Midway Hills Christian Church, Dallas

Dr. Zafar Anjum, Imam, Islamic Association of the Colony

Rev. Stacy Pever Anzick, United Methodist Church, Magnolia

Azhar Azeez, Past President, Islamic Society of North America and North Texas Islamic Council, Plano

Rev. Holly G. Bandel, Associate Minister, First United Methodist Church, Dallas

Rev. David B. Batchelder; West Plano Presbyterial Church, Plano

Rev. Mike Baughman, Union Coffee, Dallas

Rev. Rachel Baughman, Senior Pastor, Oak Lawn UMC, Dallas

Dr. Susan M. Baxley, Chair, Social Justice Committee, Kessler Park UMC, Dallas

Rev. Mitchell Boone, Senior Pastor, White Rock United Methodist Church, Dallas

Rev. Lora Brandis, Horizon United Universalist Church, Carrollton

Rev. Judith Sarkozy Brandt, Denver City

Stacey Brown, Elev8 Movement, Dallas

Rev. Susan Buchanan, Unitedf Methodist Church, Houston

Rev. Dr. Vanessee Burns, Christian Chapel CME Church, Dallas

Rev. Wally Butts, Pastor, United Methodist Church, Plano

Rev. Dr. Jaime Clark-Soles, Dallas

Mary Ann Climer, Social Justice Committee, Kessler Park UMC, Dallas

Julie Baugh Cloud, Vice President, Eula Mae and John Baugh Foundation, Westlake

Rabbi Kimberly Herzog Cohen, Temple Emanu-El, Dallas

Rabbi Heidi Coretz, Shir Tikvah, Frisco

Armel Crocker, Lay Pastor, Grace Presbytery, Winnsboro

Rev. Carolyn Davis, PhD; Texas Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church, Washington, D.C.

Rev. Thomas W. Daugherty, Texas Annual Conference, UMC, Houston

Rev. Phil Dieke, Pastor, White Rock UMC, Dallas

Rev. Anita Dinwiddie, Tyler

Rev. Benjamin Dueholm, Dallas

Rev. John Elford, Sr. Pastor, University UMC, Austin

Rev. Andrew Fiser, North Texas Conference of the United Methodist Church, Dallas

Rev. Eric Folkerth, Kessler Park UMC, Dallas

Rabbi Alan Freedman, Temple Beth Shalom, Austin

Rev. Tom Gibbons, Pator Emeritus, St. Barnabas Presbyterian Church, Richardson

Rev. Scott Gilliland, Senior Pastor, Arapaho United Methodist Church, Richardson

Fr. Tim Gollob, Retired Priest, Catholic Diocese of Dallas

Rev. Dr. Mike Gregg, Pastor, Royal Lane Baptist Church, Dallas

Bishop Erik Gronberg, NT-NL Synod, ELCA, Argyle

Rev. Dr. Sid Hall, III, Lead Minister, Trinity Church of Austin

Rev. Wes Helm, Rowlett

Rev. Page Hines, Associate Pastor, Arlington Heights UMC, Fort Worth

Rev. Dr. Don Holladay, Lubbock

Rev. Deanna Hollas, Presbyterian Peace Fellowship, Dallas

Zulikha Hussain, Valley Ranch Mosque and Community Interfaith Activist, Irving

Saif Islam, Executive Director, Good Citizens of DFW

Dr. Hind Jarrah, Co-Founder and retired President, Texas Muslim Women’s Foundation

Donna Jensen, President, South District United Methodist Women

Rev. Charles Foster Johnson, Pastor, Bread Fellowship, Fort Worth

Rev. Kathryn Johnson, Associate Minister, St. Stephen UMC, Mesquite

Rev. Dr. Daniel Kanter, Senior Minister, First Unitarian Church of Dallas

Rabbi Nancy Kasten, Chief Relationship Officer, Faith Commons

Rabbi Neal Katz, Congregation Beth El, Tyler

Marv Knox, Coordinator, Fellowship Southwest, Coppell

Rev. Dr. Dan De Leon, Senior Pastor, Friends Congregational Church, UCC, College Station

Rev. Sandy Londa, United Methodist Elder, Retired

Dr. D. Stephan Long, Dallas

Rev. Dr. Griff Martin, Sr. Pastor, First Baptist Church of Austin

Rev. Dr. George A. Mason, Senior Pastor, Wilshire Baptist Church, Dallas, and President, Faith Commons

Rev. Bill (JW) Matthews, University Park UMC, Dallas

Rev. Diane McGehee, Bering Memorial UMC, Houston

Rev. Bobby J. McMillan, retired UMC clergy, NWTX Conference, Lubbock

Rabbi Ralph Mecklenberger, Rabbi Emeritus, Beth-El Congregation, Fort Worth

Rev. Joe Miller, Texas Annual Conference, UMC, Newton

Dr. Michael Miller, Dean, Bright Divinity School, Fort Worth

Rev. Amy W. Moore, Dallas

Jackie Baugh Moore, President, Eula Mae and John Baugh Foundation, Boerne

Bee Moorhead, Executive Director, Texas Impact

Almas Muscatwalla, Executive Director, Faith Forward Dallas

Dana Norton, Pastor, Sunnyvale

Rabbi Andrew Paley, Temple Shalom, Dallas

Rev. Payton Parker, Pastor, First UMC, Lancaster

Robyn Reno, Social Justice Committee, Kessler Park UMC

Sister Patricia Ridgley, Sisters of St. Mary of Namur, Fort Worth

Rabbi Debra Robbins, Temple Emanu-El, Dallas

Rabbi Amy Ross, Temple Emanu-El, Dallas

Leslie Russell, Social Justice Committee, Kessler Park UMC, Dallas

Rev. Gail Ford Smith, Retired Elder, UMC, Houston

Rev. Kerry Smith, United Methodist Church, Dallas

Rev. Robert O. Smith

Rev. Dr. Jeff Smith, Wellspring, Georgetown

Rev. Sandra W. Smith, Texas Annual Conference, UMC

Rev. Dr. T. Randall Smith, Texas Annual Conference, UMC

Rev. Marti Soper, Senior Pastor, Northaven UMC, Dallas

Rev. Cathy Sweeney, Arapaho United Methodist Church, Richardson

Rev. Tom Stephenson, United Methodist Full Elder, Houston

Rabbi David Stern, Temple Emanu-El, Dallas

Rev. Cathy Stone, First UMC, Austin

Rev. Dr. Meredith Stone, Fellowship Southwest, Abilene

Imam Azhar Subedar, Plano

Imam Dr. Omar Suleiman, Valley Ranch Islamic Center, Dallas

Rev. Kelly Sullivan, Retired Clergy, Texas Annual Conference, UMC

Reverend William R. Taylor, Texas Annual Conference

Rev. Neil Thomas, Cathedral of Hope, United Church of Christ, Dallas

Rabbi Dan Utley, Temple Emanu-El, Dallas

Minister Cameron Vickrey, Faith Commons

Garrett Vickrey, Senior Pastor, Woodland Baptist Church, San Antonio

Rev. John E. Warren, Retired Elder, Wimberly

Laura Westerlage, MDiv/MSSW, The Stewpot, Dallas

Rev. Marcus Womack, Plymouth Park United Methodist Church, Irving

Rev. Kevin Young, Senior Pastor, St. John’s UMC, Lubbock

Rabbi Elana Zelony, Richardson

Rabbi Brian Zimmerman, Beth-El Congregation, Fort Worth

Mimi Platt Zimmerman, Student, Bright Divinity School, Fort Worth

Rabbi Sheldon Zimmerman, Plano